| Login

2015 Atlantic University Field Hockey Championships

The 2015 Atlantic University Field Hockey Championships took place Oct. 24 and 25 at Dalhousie and Saint Mary's Universities.   For a second year in a row Dalhousie captured the Atlantic University Championship in an exciting gold medal game versus UPEI. The championship game needed overtime to decide a winner.  UPEI's goal was scored by Alyssa Ferguson while Jaclyn Sanderson scored both regulation and the overtime winner for Dal.

In the bronze medal game, SMU defeated UNB 2-1 in a shoot out. The SMU goal was scored by Alyssa Walthers while the lone UNB goal was scored by Nathalie LaPlante.  In the shootout, SMU won 3 goals to 1 to earn the bronze medal.

After the championship weekend, league all stars were announced: Hailee Cook - UNB, Ashley Maynard - ACA, Alyssa Ferguson, Katherine Koughan, Sarah Sear - UPEI, Danica Jamye, Maya Palacio, Samantha Spooner - DAL, Lauren Perry, Alyssa Walthers - SMU.

Major award winners were awarded to:

Rookie of the Year - Maya Palacio Dal, Goalie of the Year - Ashley Maynard ACA, Outstanding Contributor Award - Emily Ross UPEI, League MVP - Alyssa Walthers SMU, Coach of the Year - Shona Bowes UNB, Umpire of the Year - Mario DeMello

Author: pthompson

2015 Atlantic University Field Hockey Playoffs

This weekend Dalhousie and Saint Mary's Universities are hosting the 2015 Atlantic University Field Hockey Playoffs.  Seven teams across the maritimes will compete to win this year's university title.  All are welcome to come out and watch at Dal and SMU turf. 

Saturday, Oct 24, 2015 @ DAL (Home/Away)

1:00 pm   Pool A SMU vs UPEI             (1 vs 3)  

2:00 pm   Pool B     DAL vs UNB               (2 vs 4)
3:00 pm   Pool A     UPEI vs ACA              (3 vs 6)
4:00 pm   Pool B     UNB vs STFX             (4 vs 5)
5:00 pm   Pool A     ACA vs SMU              (6 vs 1) 

6:00 pm   Pool B    STFX  vs DAL              (5 vs 2)

Coaches meeting following at 7:30pm (room TBA)
Sunday, Oct 25, 2015 @ SMU (Home/Away)
8:00 am      3rd Pool A  vs  3rd Pool B
9:00 am      1st Pool A  vs  2nd Pool B
10:15 am    1st Pool B  vs  2nd Pool A
11:30 am    MTA  vs   3rd Pool A       (Placement Round)
12:30 pm    Bronze  Match
1:30 pm      3rd Pool B vs MTA   (Placement Round)
2:30 pm      Atlantic University Championship   

Awards Presentation Immediately following Final        

Author: pthompson

Wendy Stewart to Facilitate Umpiring Clinic

FHNS is pleased to announce that Wendy Stewart, FIH International Umpire, will be coming to Halifax this month to run an umpiring clinic and to rate umpires. 
This clinic is meant for people who:
- are currently umpiring in our indoor, outdoor, and the university leagues
- those who are familiar with the rules and want to umpire in the outdoor league
- experienced umpires who want to become Umpiring Course Conductors.

There is NO charge for this clinic. 
This not a rules clinic but an umpiring clinic so attendees are expected to know the rules. However, she may cover interpretations. 

Dates and Times:
Wednesday Oct 21 from 6pm - 9.30/10pm - theory/question sessions
Thursday Oct 22 from 6pm - 9.30/10pm - theory/question sessions
Saturday and Sunday Oct 24 & 25 approx - 9am - 5pm for practical Umpire coaching/ assessing at the University match umpires.
Candidates are expected to attend ALL sessions. 
Please contact Mario DeMello immediately if you are interested in this clinic.

Author: pthompson

2015 Atlantic Cup Results

The 2015 Atlantic Cup Field Hockey Tournament was held this weekend at Saint Mary’s Turf in Halifax.

The finals saw the Andrews Team from Halifax defeat the Outaouais Club from Ottawa 1-0. The game winning goal from Clive Wheatley came in the final minute of the game to clinch the victory.  Andrews defeated the Privateers 3-1 to reach the finals, while Outaouais defeated the Panthers 1-0 in the other semi final.

FHNS would like to congratulate The Andrews Team for winning the tournament as well as all the other players, umpires, and volunteers who helped out this weekend.  Hope to see you all next year!

Author: pthompson

Atlantic Cup Schedule

The Atlantic Cup is taking place this weekend August 1 and 2 at Husky Stadium, Saint Mary's University in Halifax.  Five teams are competing from all over Eastern Canada this year.  Come out and show your support.

Atlantic Cup Schedule

Author: pthompson
First 45678910111213 Last